BODY OF KNOWLEDGE

SAMARA HERSCH (AUSTRALIA/NETHERLANDS)
SICK! FESTIVAL COMMISSION
UK PREMIERE
CO-PRESENTED WITH CONTACT
FRI 4TH OCT: 21:00
SAT 5TH OCT: 16:00 & 20:00
VENUE: STUN, Z-ARTS, 335 STRETFORD ROAD, HULME, MANCHESTER, M15 5ZA
RUNNING TIME: 60 MINS
ADMISSION: PAY BETWEEN SCHEME (£5-15)
THIS PERFORMANCE INCLUDES AUDIENCE INTERACTION AND MAY INCLUDE SEXUAL CONTENT & STRONG LANGUAGE

 

 

This intimate new work—performed by teenagers who call into the theatre on mobile phones—is a powerful meditation on age and change: changes to bodies, changes in attitude and changes to life. Questions of boundaries, sexuality, pleasure, shame, pain, consent, ageing, grief and death are all on the table as teens from across Manchester and the globe chat with the audience in real-time from their bedrooms. Body of Knowledge is a surprising, challenging and tender experience, exploring how we pay attention (or not) to our own and others’ bodies co-existing in time and space.

Lead Artist:   Samara Hersch   https://samarahersch.com

Dramaturg:   Maria Rößler     https://mariaroessler.work/en

Artistic Advisor:   Mette Ingvartsen http://www.metteingvartsen.net

Artistic Advisor:    Edit Kaldor http://www.editkaldor.com

Set Designer:   Belle Santos https://www.postpragmaticsolutions.com

Lighting Designer:   Jenny Hector http://www.jennyhector.com

Creative Technologist:   Fred Rodrigues http://www.fredrodrigues.net

Stage Manager (Europe)   Isobel Dryburgh http://veronica.amsterdam

Stage Manager (Australia) Cassandra Fumi http://www.cassandrafumi.com/projects

Co-produced by SICK! Festival in Manchester and Liveworks Festival of Experimental Art in Sydney.

Realized in the framework of Be SpectACTive! – CapoTrave/Kilowatt (IT), Artemrede (PT), Bakelit Multi Art Center (HU), Brut (AT), BUDA Kortrijk (BE), Cafè de las Artes Teatro (ES), Domino (HR), Divadelná Nitra(SK), Dublin theatre festival (IE), Göteborgs stadss kulturförvaltning/ Stora teatern (SE), Institution Student Cultural Centre (RS),  Occitanie en scène languedoc-roussillon (FR), Plesni teater (SI), Tanec praha (CZ), Teatrul national Radu Stanca (RO).

An early version of this work was developed at DAS Theatre in Amsterdam.

Special thanks: Eva Alonso, Malu Peeters, Emma Rekkers, Tony Markus Sacharias, Richard Gregory, Kate Daley, Renny O’shea and my colleagues and staff from the DAS Graduate School.

 

                  

Image credit:
Samara Hersch, Body of Knowledge, 2019. Image by Pier Carthew.